A Positive Month; Day 11

Rise and shine gorgeous! It’s Monday bloody Monday again. And though sometimes I thoroughly enjoy starting the new week, I honestly hate having to wake up early. Admitted, when I am allowed to sleep in, I never do as I used to/as my brother does. I tend to be up and dressed by ten latest. But the fact that I háve to wake up early just sucks, it’s the ‘having to’ thing that makes me dread that alarm and hate getting up a gazillion times more. On an early Uni-day, I have to be in the train by 6, meaning my alarm is set at 5 (yes, it takes me an hour to wake up, shower, get dressed, pack my stuff and race to the station), which I would call a pretty inhumane time, no? But do you know what helps? Ha, there you have it again; a positive mindset. So, today..

11. Greet the day (and the new week!) with positivity (before getting out of bed)

Just take a moment to roll over, giggle and yawn into your pillow, hug your covers one last time, take a deep breath, SMILE, stretch and get your pretty little feet out of bed. Open your blinds, greet the sun, and go about your morning routine. As I told you guys last week, an absolute must for me is a hot shower in order to wake up. I set my alarm early enough to be able to shower for at least ten minutes, I need it more than an extra ten minutes of sleep. Then I turn on my radio (regular wake up time = the ‘crazy hour’ at the radiostation, meaning I wake up with Spice Girls, Tom Jones or happy songs music on a daily basis) and sing, dance and jiggle my way into my clothes. It’s the only way I can make it to the station with a smile on my face, grab that cup of freshly ground cappuccino and run (álways late!) to catch my train.

What is your morning routine? And how do you make sure you start your day positively?

10 thoughts on “A Positive Month; Day 11

  1. This is a tough one for me. Not that I always wake up in a negative mood. But I don’t have a lot of choice about it. However I will try this tomorrow morning. I will try to make a conscious choice about my first thoughts upon awakening.

    Often my cat is ready to wake up at 4 a.m. That’s too early for me. But I usually get up at 5 or 5:30 a.m. It’s sometimes a real bummer to get woken up at 4 because I have a hard time getting enough sleep as it is.

    We let our cat sleep with us and I wouldn’t have it any other way. She’s family and it works out fine most of the night through – til 4. What makes it endurable is when she gently comes up to me and sits on my chest and carefully touches my cheek with her little furry paw. It’s so endearing that it melts my frustration at being woken up too early.

    Other mornings though, she just meows loudly at me – that’s a little more rude but Oh Well….

    • You could just feed her (or whatever it is that she wakes you up for) and crawl back into bed for just another half an hour. Just to give your body and mind the chance to slowly wake up, in a rythm that suits your natural rythm. (I secretly do this on the weekends with my dog haha, she gets hungry at 6:30, no matter if its sunday or wednesday unfortunately!)

  2. You are right. We do that sometimes. Unfortunately I’m such a light sleeper that once I get up I usually can’t go back to sleep. But going back to bed and just laying there and let it be a slower transition is something I hadn’t thought of. Good idea! Thanks.

    • Same here, or, if I do fall asleep, I’ll pass out for another three hours haha. But just allowing myself the time to wake up slowly, greet the sun and then take a nice hot shower makes a huge difference!

  3. Hahaha! I’m good at this one. I don’t like sleeping. I’m getting up at between 5 or 6 am. I’m always happy because there my two sleepy cats around my feet, the smell of coffee, BLOGS… I love reading and writing at this early hour. I have almost the whole day before I get to work at 10, what’s not to love?

  4. Pingback: A Positive Month; Day 13 « THE WORLD OF CHAOS IN MY HEAD

  5. Pingback: A Positive Month; Day 17 « THE WORLD OF CHAOS IN MY HEAD

  6. Pingback: A Positive Month; Day 20 « THE WORLD OF CHAOS IN MY HEAD

  7. Pingback: A Positive Month; The round-up + an extra | THE WORLD OF CHAOS IN MY HEAD

Leave a Reply

